16 January 2018

The Act of Union Is Passed By the Scottish Parliament, AD 1707

On this historic day,16 January, in 1707, the Act of Union was passed in the Scottish Parliament, merging the English and Scottish parliaments and paving the way for the new country of Great Britain.

The English Parliament passed the Act of Union on the 4th of March 1707 (Royal Assent on 6th of March) and, of course, it came into effect on the 1st of May 1707.

Pictured below are the Acts of Union are being presented to Queen Anne by the Duke of Queensbury in 1707.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are subject to deletion if they are not germane. I have no problem with a bit of colourful language, but blasphemy or depraved profanity will not be allowed. Attacks on the Catholic Faith will not be tolerated. Comments will be deleted that are republican (Yanks! Note the lower case 'r'!), attacks on the legitimacy of Pope Francis as the Vicar of Christ (I know he's a material heretic and a Protector of Perverts, and I definitely want him gone yesterday! However, he is Pope, and I pray for him every day.), the legitimacy of the House of Windsor or of the claims of the Elder Line of the House of France, or attacks on the legitimacy of any of the currently ruling Houses of Europe.